The Police Department’s Records Division houses and keeps secure all crime and traffic reports generated by Cortez Police Officers. Whenever a citizen needs a police report from an incident that the Cortez Police have handled, that report can be obtained from the Records Division. Whenever a police report is released to a citizen, a Records Request Form must be filled out and signed. This is required by Colorado Revised Statue 24-74-305.5.
The Records Division is open to the public from 7:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday (mountain standard time). There is a fee for copies of reports. Criminal Justice Records Fee Schedule.
Applicant Fingerprinting & Background Checks
The Cortez Police Department no longer provides services for applicant fingerprinting. Per CBI policy, physical cards will no longer be accepted or processed by CBI. Please visit coloradofingerprinting.com or call (833) 224-2227 to schedule your appointment. If you have further questions regarding fingerprinting, they may be answered by CBI/Colorado Fingerprinting at (833) 224-2227.
Criminal Court Ordered Fingerprints are still available and we provide that service each Tuesday between 1:00-3:00 PM.
For background checks please visit cbirecordscheck.com. This website provide the entire (Colorado only) criminal history on a person and the charge is $6.85. It is a secure website directly from the state. The Cortez Police Department cannot give out criminal history information to the public.
Sex Offender Registration
Sex Offender Registration is provided at the police department. You will be required to have your fingerprints and photo taken. The fee for this service is $20.
VIN Verifications/Certified VIN Inspections
- Tuesday - Thursday 1000 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. and 1:00 p.m. to 3:00 p.m. at the Cortez Police Department
- Cost - Free
- Contact: Cortez Police Department
- Phone: 970-565-4031
- Address: 608 N. Park Street, Cortez, CO 81321
Certified VIN Inspection
- Once every other month (Odd calendar months)
- Cost - $20.00
- Contact: Ryan Liska for appointment at (970) 564-4031
Questions regarding VIN Verification or Certified VIN Inspections contact Ryan Liska at (970) 564-4031 or email.
Bicycles can be registered at the police department, Monday through Friday. Please complete the Bicycle Registration Form and bring to the Records Division for registration.