City Council

City Council Minutes and Agendas February 2022 - Present

City Council Meetings January (2022 & Prior)

City Council Workshops (January 2022 & Prior)

Current Council Members include:

  • Mayor Rachel Medina rmedina@cortezco.gov
  • Mayor Pro-tem Arlina Yazzie ayazzie@cortezco.gov
  • Councilmember Lydia DeHaven ldehaven@cortezco.gov
  • Councilmember David Rainey drainey@cortezco.gov
  • Councilmember Robert Dobry rdobry@cortezco.gov
  • Councilmember Matthew Keefauver mkeefauver@cortezco.gov
  • Councilmember Dennis Spruell dspruell@cortezco.gov


Council Meeting

City Council Requirements

The City Council consists of seven members. No person shall be eligible to office as a council member unless at the time of election he or she is a citizen of the United States, at least twenty-one years of age and shall have been for one year immediately preceding such election a resident of the city.

A municipal election for council members is held on the first Monday in April in even numbered years. Council members shall be paid every two weeks. No council person shall receive a payment for a meeting which he or she did not attend. The mayor shall receive as compensation $500 per month.

Each of the other council members shall receive as compensation $400 per month. For information on council election, please see Elections. Work Sessions begin usually at 6 p.m.